NATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDICIARY 2023 General Membership Meeting Minutes October 17, 2023 Westin Tampa Waterside Hotel, Tampa, FL

- 1. Call to Order, 12:45 p.m., by President Bruce Culpepper. Over 80 NAALJ members in attendance, constituting a quorum.
- 2. Minutes of General Membership Meeting, October 25, 2022, Albuquerque, MN, Motion to Accept by Kathleeen Chapman, Seconded by Dick Goodwin, Minutes accepted by unanimous vote.
- 3. President's Report: President Culpepper

President Culpepper thanked the 2022-2023 Board of Governors for their service to NAALJ and reviewed the work of the Board and the work of the NALJ Foundation in the 2022-2023 Board year.

President Culpepper announced and presented the 2023 NALJ Foundation Challenge Grants to the following recipients: Hon. Angela Diehl, MD; Hon. Phil Horgan, FL; and Hon. Jay R.S. Parks, IN.

4. Treasurer's Report: Treasurer Dick Goodwin

Treasurer Goodwin reported that NAALJ and the NALJ Foundation are financially stable with a balance in the NAALJ account of \$68,998.31, and a balance in the NALJ Foundation account of \$15,194.84. Treasurer Goodwin referred to the assembled membership to the annual profit and loss statements distributed at the start of the meeting.

5. Audit Committee: Carrie Ingram

Carrie reported that the Audit Committee found the financial records to be sound, with no discrepancies. She noted that NAALJ covered all its expenses during the 2022-2023 Board year.

- 6. Other Committees: President Culpepper recognized all the current Committee members and thanked them for their work during the 2022-2023 Board year. He encouraged all members present to volunteer to serve on various NAALJ committees, including the Nominating Committee, the Audit Committee, the Finance Committee, and the Victor J. Rosskopf Award Nominating Committee.
- 7. Election of the 2023-2024 Board of Governors: Gabe Paul, Chair, Nominating Committee

Gabe recited all the members of the proposed slate and opened the floor for nominations for members other than those on the slate. There were no nominations from the floor. Secretary Michael Osborn announced a quorum was present.

President Bruce Culpepper called for a Motion to elect the proposed slate. A motion was made and seconded to accept the slate, following which the 2023-2024 Board was elected by unanimous vote. The following were elected:

President Hon. Gabriel Paul (Indiana)
President Elect Hon. Thomas J. Augustine (Iowa)
Treasurer Hon. Carrie Ingram (Indiana)

Secretary Hon. Steven Thibadaeu (Maralana)

Secretary Hon. Steven Thibodeau (Maryland)

Returning Board Members (2 year term expires in 2024)

Hon. Anthony Colbert (California) Hon. Hon. Evan McGinley (Illinois)

New Board Members (2-year terms expire in 2025)

Hon Ray Kramer (New York) (returning Board member) Hon. Kathleen Chapman (Maryland) (returning Board member)

Hon. Kathrine McDonald (California)

New Board Members (serving the remaining one year of terms expiring in 2024 of members who will be serving as Officers)

Hon. Leigh Walder (Maryland) Hon. Brian Weeks (Maryland)

Immediate Past President Bruce Culpepper (Florida) also joins the Board per NAALJ Bylaws, Art. VII, Sec.1.

8. New Business

a. Annual Dues Increase

President Culpepper reported that the Finance Committee had recommended an increase in annual dues of \$15.00 per category per fiscal year, with Affiliate Member dues increasing from \$70.00 per year to \$85.00 per year, and Non-Affiliate Member dues increasing from \$85.00 per year to \$100.00 per year. Finance Committee Chairman Gabe Paul and Treasurer Goodwin spoke in favor of the increase, as did President Culpepper. Bob Cohen (Florida) moved to increase dues as recommended by the Finance Committee, a motion seconded by June McKinney (Florida). The Moton to Increase Dues \$15.00 per fiscal year per member category passed.

b. Amendment to the Bylaws

Prior to the General Membership Meeting the Board circulated to the general membership a proposed Bylaws Amendment to vest the Board of Governors with the authority to set annual dues, replacing the current provision in Art. III, Sec. 1 requiring an in person, majority vote of the active membership during an annual conference. The Proposed Amendments are as follows:

Section 3. Affiliation.

Any organization of individuals eligible for membership may become affiliated with the Association by notifying the Board of Governors of its intention to do so and indicating its agreement with the aims of the Association and by submitting the per capita dues for its members to the Association. Dues for members of affiliate chapters shall be \$70 set at an amount as determined by a majority vote of the Board of Governors taken at any regular, special or annual meeting before the start of the fiscal year and may be redetermined as needed by a majority vote of the Board of Governors taken at any regular, special or annual meeting before the start of the fiscal year. Dues for individual members shall be \$85 set at an amount as determined by a majority vote of the Board of Governors taken at any regular, special or annual meeting before the start of the fiscal year. In no case shall the Board take any action concerning dues more than one (1) time during each fiscal year. All members of affiliates shall be members of the national association.

ARTICLE III

DUES

Section 1. Due Annually.

The fiscal year of the Association shall be the twelve-month period beginning July 1, of each year. Membership dues shall be paid to the Association in the amount fixed by the majority vote of the *Board of Governors taken at any regular, special or annual meeting before the start of the fiscal year.* active membership, in person at an annual convention or special meeting for each class of member. Any changes shall be made *by a majority vote of the Board of Governors taken at any regular, special or annual meeting before the start of the fiscal year.* before the beginning of each fiscal year. Dues not paid within sixty days after the beginning of each fiscal year are delinquent.

Section 2. Special Assessments.

Special assessments may be approved by a majority vote of the Board of Governors taken at any regular, special or annual meeting before the start of the fiscal year. proposed by the Board of Governors and shall thereafter be submitted to the membership at large for approval, by a majority of those voting.

A Motion to Adopt the proposed Bylaws changes was made and seconded. Following a floor debate, the Motion was tabled.

9. Closing remarks by President Elect Gabe Paul.

The 2023 General Membership Meeting adjourned at 1:40 p.m.

/s/ Michael R. Osborn
Michael R. Osborn
Secretary, National Association of Administrative Law Judiciary