

NAALJ Annual Business Meeting Minutes Tuesday, October 5, 2021, 12:30 PM. (Eastern time)

- 1. Call to Order by President John Leidig.
 - a. Enough NAALJ members were present to constitute a quorum.

2. Audit Committee

a. Bruce Culpepper reported that the Audit Committee conducted its audit and found that the financial records are in order. The Audit Committee consisted of Bruce Culpepper, Michael Osborne, and President John Leidig.

3. Treasurer's Report

a. Because the Treasurer was unable to attend in person, President John Leidig reported on the financial balances as of October 1, 2021. The NAALJ account has \$27,178.86 and the NALJF account has \$18,438.15.

4. Bylaw Change

a. Mike Osborne presented the following proposed bylaw change to the Victor Rosskopf Award which had also been sent to the members previously:

Pursuant to ARTICLE XI, the following amendments to the NAALJ Constitution and By-Laws are proposed:

1. ARTICLE IX, Section 1 is amended to add the Victor Rosskopf Award Committee as a NAALJ Standing Committee as shown below.

ARTICLE IX

COMMITTEES

Section 1. Identity of Standing Committees.

The Standing Committees shall be the following:

- (a) Auditing Committee;
- (b) Membership Committee;
- (c) Victor Rosskopf Award Committee
- (c) (d) Such other committees as the President shall designate from time to time.

2. ARTICLE IX is amended to add a new Section 6 as shown below.

Section 6. Victor Rosskopf Award Committee.

The Victor Rosskopf Award is presented no more than annually to a recipient selected by the Victor Rosskopf Award Committee who best exemplifies judicial professionalism and ethics in administrative law. The Committee's composition and appointment and the standards for soliciting nominations and selecting the award recipient shall be in accordance with guidelines approved by the Board of Governors.

Motion and second were made, vote taken, and the motion carried unanimously.

5. Challenge Grant Recipients

President John Leidig presented this year's Challenge Grant recipients: Catherine Bennett (New York), John Newton II (Florida) and Gail Sheridan Lucht (Iowa).

President Leidig noted that NAALJ will be focusing on increase the number of Affiliates in the coming year.

6. Election

President John Leidig presented the slate selected by the Nominating Committee for the incoming Officers and Board of Governors. After the slate was presented, President Leidig asked if there were any additional nominations from the members. None were made. The following individuals were selected by unanimous vote:

President-Elect Bruce Culpepper, Tallahassee, Florida Secretary Brian Stewart, Salt Lake City, Utah Treasurer Richard Goodwin, Fresno, California

Board Member (third) 2-year term

Board Member (second) 2-year term

Karen Clopton, San Francisco, California
Ray Kramer, New York, New York

Board Member 2-year term Carrie Townsend Ingram, Rockville, Indiana Board Member 2-year term Kathleen Chapman, Hunt Valley, Maryland

The following Board members will continue for the second year of their terms which expire in 2022:

Board Member 2-year term W. Anthony Colbert, San Francisco, California

Board Member 2-year term Thomas J. Augustine, Clive, Iowa Board Member 2-year term Gabriel Paul, Carmel, Indiana

Board Member 2-year term Michael Osborn, Hunt Valley, Maryland

7. Committee Sign-up

President-Elect Jami Webster Hall encouraged members to join a committee as a way to serve and to gain experience with NAALJ. She noted that it can be very helpful for Board

members to have committee experience and is something that the nominating committee may consider when making Board and Officer nominations.

8. Meeting Adjourned.